Urban Excellence Award Winners Announced

The Tampa Downtown Partnership announced the 2022 Urban Excellence Award winners last night at the David A. Straz Center for the Performing Arts. Among the businesses, initiatives, projects, and individuals celebrated this year were Joe Waggoner, CEO of the Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority, named the Christine Burdick Downtown Person of the Year, and Kim Puleo winning the People’s Choice Award.

“All of our winners and nominees have played crucial roles in the growth and development of our beautiful Downtown over the past year,” said Tampa Downtown Partnership President and CEO Lynda Remund. “Being able to recognize their accomplishments and achievements is the least we can do to thank them for their contributions which will impact Tampa for years to come.”

A total of ten awards were handed out at the 2022 Urban Excellence Awards.  Below is the complete list of winners.

Public Sector Project Award
Madison Street Park – City of Tampa Parks and Recreation & the Channel District CRA

Private Sector Project Award
Grand Central at Kennedy Courtyard Renovations

Downtown Collaboration Award
The Boulevard at West River by Related Group

Landmark Development Project Award
Publix Greenwise at Heron Water Street Tampa

Downtown Experience Award
Meacham Urban Farm

Activating Spaces Award
CRISP – MacDill Park Gold Star Memorial

Marketplace Award
Abbicreates Studio

Arts & Culture Award
Glazer Children’s Museum Camp Imagination

Christine Burdick Downtown Person of The Year Award
Joe Waggoner – Tampa Hillsborough Expressway Authority Executive Director/CEO (Retired)

2022 People’s Choice Award
Kim Puleo – 1205 on Franklin